AACC’s president Martha Smith wins tech award

Anne Arundel Community College President Martha A. Smith, Ph.D., received the Chesapeake Regional Tech Council’s Legend’s Circle Individual award at the organization’s annual awards ceremony recently.

“While Dr. Smith’s honors are many, we celebrate her vision and leadership specifically as they benefit the regional technology community,” said Kevin Lancaster, president of Chesapeake Regional Tech Council. He said the CRTC especially recognized her role in increasing the number of prepared individuals in the cybersecurity workforce pipeline.

Unlike other CRTC awards, the Legend’s Circle Individual award is only presented when a clear candidate meets the organization’s criteria to be called a “legend.” Smith is the sixth person to be presented the award, which is given to a person who is committed to and an advocate for furthering the economic vitality of the technology industry and whose creative thinking and strategic partnerships have helped the technology industry make significant progress in education, career opportunities and innovation. Dr. Smith’s leadership in the college’s reputation as a top trainer in cybersecurity and her role in creating the CyberCenter to oversee and expand programs to meet workforce needs were cited as key reasons for her receiving the award.

Smith’s influence on national and state educational and economic issues is demonstrated in her participation on boards of national and state organizations and agencies. Some of these include the League for Innovation in the Community College’s 20-member board of directors and the board’s Executive Committee, the Maryland Education Council and as a Maryland representative on the national Education Commission of the States, the Governor’s Workforce Investment Board, the Fort Meade Alliance board and the Annapolis and Anne Arundel Chamber of Commerce board.

Comments are closed.