Atlantic Financial Federal Credit Union extends field of membership eligibility to 4 Greater Baltimore counties

June 8, 2021

Atlantic Financial Federal Credit Union (AFFCU) announced on June 8 it has received approval from regulators at the National Credit Union Association (NCUA) to expand its charter and membership eligibility. AFFCU is now a community-chartered credit union and approved to serve four greater Baltimore counties. AFFCU is now open to anyone who lives, works, worships, volunteers, attends school, or has family in Baltimore County, Baltimore City, Carroll County, and Harford County.

AFFCU celebrated its 70th anniversary in 2020. Since opening in April of 1950, AFFCU’s (formerly Baltimore Telephone Federal Credit Union) focus has always been on serving the financial needs of its members and ensuring every member’s financial success.

The community expansion and selection to serve Baltimore City, Baltimore, Carroll and Harford Counties was a logical and strategic decision. AFFCU’s existing membership is a melting pot of consumers made up of employees and family members of its 250+ employer partners who have been affiliated with the credit union. Those members predominantly lived in these four community segments. Therefore, these markets were selected to better serve them and their fellow community members.

In support of the expansion, AFFCU will evaluate convenient, and effective ways to serve members throughout these communities. Having recently completed a digital banking overhaul, the credit union will continue to invest in technological advancements to best serve its members and provide secure, reliable account access. The credit union remains a partner of the CO-OP shared branch and ATM network that provides nationwide access to over 5,000 branches and over 30,000 surcharge-free ATMs, which locally includes ATMs at Wawa, Royal Farms, 7-11 and more.

Read the complete press release here.

Source: Atlantic Financial Federal Credit Union