GBC’s Donald Fry, 10 member companies among winners of Innovator of the Year Award

Greater Baltimore Committee president and CEO Donald C. Fry and nominees from 10 GBC-member companies have been named among winners of the Daily Record’s 2009 Innovator of the Year Award.

The Top Innovator of the Year Award went to The Lean Team, St. Joseph Medical Center, for reducing patient wait times in the emergency room by 25 percent.

Fry and the GBC were cited for the 6-year-old Bridging the Gap initiative, which nurtures the development of minority-owned and women-owned business through private-sector initiatives.

Additional Innovator of the Year Award winners from GBC-member companies are:

  • Dr. Gail Cunningham, St. Joseph Medical Center, for the LifeNet STEMI System;
  • Dr. Huakun Xu, University of Maryland Baltimore;
  • Dr. Jason Rasgon, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health;
  • Henry Posko and Cindy Plavier Truitt, Humanim, Inc., for American Brewery restoration;
  • Dr. John S. Baras, University of Maryland, College Park, for the key exchange system;
  • Dr. Jonathan Lazar, Dr. Jinjuan Heidi Feng, Dr. Harry Hochheiser, Graig Sauer, Jon Holman, Towson University;
  • Dr. Myron Levine, University of Maryland School of Medicine, for the new Shigella vaccine;
  • Terry Allen Perl, Chimes International Ltd., for Liberty Club East; and
  • Weidong Zhu, University of Maryland Baltimore County, for vibration based damage detection.

The Daily Record‘s 2009 Innovator of the Year awards honors innovators that have had a positive effect on their business, industry or community. The 2009 awards program was held October 14 at the American Visionary Art Museum.