GBC’s Donald Fry and eight member companies among winners of Innovator of the Year Award

Greater Baltimore Committee president and CEO Donald C. Fry and nominees from eight GBC-member companies have been named among winners of the Daily Record’s 2009 Innovator of the Year Award.

Fry and the GBC were cited for the 5-year-old Bridging the Gap initiative, which nurtures the development of minority-owned and women-owned business through programs that focus on business partnership creation, professional development, and broadening corporate procurement from minority vendors.

Innovator of the Year Award winners from GBC-member companies are:

  • Dr. Gail Cunningham, St. Joseph Medical Center, for the LifeNet STEMI System;
  • Dr. Huakun Xu, University of Maryland Baltimore;
  • Dr. Jason Rasgon, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health;
  • Henry Posko and Cindy Plavier Truitt, Humanim, Inc., for American Brewery restoration;
  • John S. Baras, University of Maryland, College Park, for the key exchange system;
  • Jonathan Lazar, Jinjuan Heidi Feng, Harry Hochheiser, Graig Sauer, Jon Holman, Towson University;
  • Myron Levine, University of Maryland School of Medicine; for the new Shigella vaccine;
  • The Lean Team, St. Joseph Medical Center, for reducing patient wait times in the emergency room by 25 percent; and
  • Weidong Zhu, University of Maryland Baltimore County, for vibration based damage detection.

The Daily Record‘s 2009 Innovator of the Year awards honors innovators that have had a positive effect on their business, industry or community. The 2009 awards program will be held October 14 at the American Visionary Art Museum.



Comments are closed.