GBC’s Pettengill named to state nanobiotechnology task force

Greater Baltimore Committee vice president Lisbeth Pettengill has been named to a new state task force on nanobiotechnology. (Complete list of members)

Governor Martin O’Malley has appointed Pettengill, who manages the GBC’s work in support of bioscience industry development, to the 10-member task force that will study nanobiotechnology research and development.

Task force recommendations on the benefits of nanbiotechnology and the state’s role in promoting it are due to the General Assembly by January 1.

The task force will also include four representatives from GBC-member higher education institutions:

• Nariman Farvadin, senior vice president for academic affairs and and provost, University of Maryland, College Park;
• Peter Searson, director, Institute for Nanobiotechnology, Johns Hopkins University;
• Peter Swaan, director, Center for Nanomedicine and Cellular Delivery, University of Maryland School of Pharmacy;
• Steve Desiderio, director, Institute of Basic Biomedical Sciences; and director, Immunobiology Program, Institute for Cell Engineering, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.

Comments are closed.