Greater Baltimore Committee honors Willard Hackerman with the 2010 Regional Visionary Award

The Greater Baltimore Committee on May 18 named Baltimore native and Poly graduate Willard Hackerman, president and CEO of Whiting-Turner the recipient of the GBC’s 2010 Regional Visionary Award.

GBC president and CEO Donald C. Fry and GBC Chair Charles Monk presented the award to Hackerman, during the GBC’s 2010 annual meeting at the Hyatt Regency Baltimore. The GBC confers the awards upon individuals who, during their careers “have recognized the importance of strengthening and unifying the Baltimore metropolitan region,” said Fry.

“While his business accomplishments are widely known and celebrated, his extraordinary philanthropy is legendary,” said Fry. “His giving has substantially benefited the Baltimore region and Maryland.”

When Hackerman started working at Whiting-Turner in 1938, fresh out of Johns Hopkins with a degree in civil engineering, he was the company’s third employee and the firm had one project – building a drawbridge in Cambridge. More than seven decades later, he remains the driving force in a company that has grown into one of the nation’s largest contracting firms with 29 U.S. offices and a portfolio ranging from high-profile shopping malls to high-tech clean rooms, as well as prominent national landmarks.

“Hackerman’s vision for his home town, his region and his state – centers around sciences, education opportunities and enhancing quality of life,” said Fry. “He has contributed millions to his alma mater, Johns Hopkins and to the broadest imaginable range of Maryland institutions, including universities, school systems, museums, orchestras, and hospitals. Just last year, he was instrumental in the commissioning of a statue recognizing the work of former Mayor William Donald Schaefer in Baltimore’s Inner Harbor.”

The GBC has presented Regional Visionary Awards since 1997. Past winners have included the late Clarence Blount and Howard “Pete” Rawlings, Robert C. Embry, Jr., Walter Sondheim, Casper R. Taylor, Jr., David Ramsay, the region’s county executives, Chip Mason, George Roche, Governor Martin O’Malley, and Lt. Governor Anthony Brown.


Comments are closed.