LEADERship Sondheim Award goes to Chris Eddings

Christopher Eddings, president of the Daily Record, has been named the winner of the LEADERship’s 2013 Sondheim Award.
The award was presented to Eddings on October 24 at Martin’s West in Woodlawn before an audience of more than 800 who attended the 30th anniversary celebration of The LEADERship, the highly-regarded program of the Greater Baltimore Committee for future business, civic and government leaders.

The award was inaugurated in 2008 to be presented every five years to a graduate of the program who exemplifies the legacy of Walter Sondheim, the renowned civic mentor and long-time advisor to the GBC who for decade counseled mayors, governors and civic leaders to lead with humility and a commitment to community service.

The winner of the first Sondheim Award in 2008 was Freeman Hrabowski, president of UMBC.

Eddings, also vice president of the Daily Record’s parent firm, Dolan Company, where he is in charge of business information products in 20 markets, is being recognized for his civic work with Humanim, his involvement with the Baltimore Reads literacy program for adults and for other civic commitments.

A member of the LEADERship Class of 1998, Eddings was selected from among 11 finalists for the Sondheim award. Other finalists were:

  • Andrew Bertamini, regional president, Wells Fargo Bank and a member of the LEADERship class of 2010
  • James Piper Bond, president & CEO, Living Classrooms, Class of 1993
  • Gardnel Carter, site director, Safe Streets East, Class of 2010
  • Bert Hash, Jr., president & CEO, Municipal Employees Credit Union, Class of 1995
  • Franklin Lee, partner, Tydings & Rosenberg, Class of 2009
  • Julie Mercer, vice president, philanthropy and development, Bon Secours Health System, Class of 1986
  • Howard Miller, partner, Saul Ewing, Class of 1985
  • Henry Posko, president & CEO, Humanim, Class of 2006
  • Samuel Ross, CEO, Bon Secours Health System, Class of 2009
  • Molly McGrath Tierney, director, Baltimore City Department of Social Services, Class of 2011

Comments are closed.