Three board members and 11 members win Most Admired CEO award


Three board members and 11 GBC members have been selected to receive the “2013 Most Admired CEO Award” by the Daily Record. The honorees will be recognized at an awards reception in Baltimore, Md. on September 19.

• Chet Burrell, president & CEO of CareFirst BlueCross BlueShield. Chet Burrell is in charge of making sure his not-for-profit health care company stays on top of the coming health insurance changes.

• Jay A. Perman, president of University of Maryland Baltimore. Jay Perman, a pediatric gastroenterologist, continues to see patients weekly in his President’s Clinic, where he joins rotating groups of students from all of UMB’s schools to personally demonstrate team-based care. Perman also serves the community on the board of directors of the Hippodrome Foundation, the University of Maryland Medical Center, and as co-chair with Mayor Stephanie Rawlings-Blake of the Westside Task Force. He was also recently elected to chair the Downtown Partnership of Baltimore.

• Paul Tiburzi, Baltimore managing partner. Paul Tiburzi leads DLA Piper’s Baltimore office, which is one of the foundation and anchor offices of the firm. He focuses his practice on public law, sports law and administrative litigation matters. He has appeared before most of Maryland’s administrative agencies and has handled appellate litigation arising from administrative decisions. He has served as Maryland legislative counsel to many Fortune 500 companies.

Tiburzi serves on the board of directors of the Greater Baltimore Committee, the Baltimore region’s most important business advocacy group. He also serves as an executive board member of Baltimore Raven Torrey Smith’s Foundation, and on the boards of trustees for Loyola Blakefield School and Maryvale Preparatory School.

The Daily Record‘s Most Admired CEO award is an annual award honoring leadership and vision, competitiveness, community and corporate leadership, financial performance and growth, and board service. Nominees are independently judged on professional experience, community involvement and a commitment to inspiring change.

Nominees were broken down into seven categories: nonprofits with less than $10 million in annual revenue; nonprofits with more than $10 million in annual revenue; private companies with 150 or more employees; private companies with 51 to 149 employees; private companies with 50 or fewer employees; public companies with less than $500 million in annual revenue; and public companies with more than $500 million in annual revenue.

The 2013 winners are as follows. GBC members are bolded; GBC board of directors’ members are indicated with a star.

Nonprofit with less than $10M in annual revenue
Traci A. Barnett, MBA Girl Scouts of Central Maryland
Amy Marshall, Olney Theatre Center
Diana Morris, Open Society Institute-Baltimore
Bryn Parchman, Port Discovery Children’s Museum
J. Thomas Sadowski, Economic Alliance of Greater Baltimore
Courtney B. Wilson, B&O Railroad Museum

Nonprofit with more than $10M in annual revenue
*Chet Burrell, CareFirst BlueCross BlueShield
*Jay A. Perman, MD University of Maryland, Baltimore
John Racanelli, National Aquarium in Baltimore
Samuel L. Ross, MD MS, Bon Secours Baltimore Health System, Inc.
Lisa A. Rusyniak, Goodwill Industries of the Chesapeake, Inc.
Thomas E. Wilcox, Baltimore Community Foundation

Private company with more than 150 employees
Ronald Attman, ACME Paper & Supply Co.
Kevin Dunbar, The Dunbar Companies (Dunbar Armored, Inc. and subsidiaries)
*Paul A. Tiburzi, DLA Piper

Private company with between 51 and 149 employees
Janet Amirault, Software Consortium
Harvey M. Goodman, SPPA Goodman-Gable-Gould/Adjusters International
Shari Lineberger Harris, Keller Williams Metropolitan Realty
Kevin Johnson, Commercial Group
Thomas Laskowski, GANTECH, Inc.
Heidi Mattingly, OrthoMaryland

Private company with fewer than 50 employees
Ellen Coren Bogage, Chesapeake Public Strategies
Carol Coughlin, BottomLine Growth Strategies, Inc.
David Gildea, Smith, Gildea & Schmidt
Todd Marks, Mindgrub Technologies
Venkat Subramanian, Angarai
Paul C. Wolman, P.W. Feats Inc.

Public company with less than $500M in annual revenue
Jeffrey Eckel, Hannon Armstrong Sustainable Infrastructure

Public company with more than $500M in annual revenue
Jim Cronin, UnitedHealthcare

Source: The Daily Record

Comments are closed.