UM Engineering School faculty members win awards


Two faculty members at the University of Maryland’s A. James Clark School of Engineering won awards for their achievements in the field, according to E@M, the School’s magazine. 

Anya Jones, assistant professor of aerospace engineering, received the 2011 NATO Research and Technology Organization’s Scientific Achievement award in recognition of her work in unsteady flows of micro air vehicles, including significant contributions to the mission of NATO’s RTO task group. 

Norman Wereley, techno-sciences professor and newly-named chair of the Department of Aerospace Engineering, has been honored with the American Society of Mechanical Engineers Adapative Structures and Material Systems Prize for his contributions to the field, including applications to protect military forces and to advance robotics and actuation systems. 

Comments are closed.